Harry Potter Books in Order: The Complete Reading List

Harry Potter Books in Order: The Complete Reading List

Reading Time: 3 minutes
5/5 - (7 votes)

Harry Potter Books in Order Overview

Harry Potter made his first appearance in 1997 with Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, to immediate success, and six further best-selling books followed. Harry is an orphan living with his guardian aunt and uncle and their son, who mistreat him. On his 11th birthday, Harry reveals that his parents were a witch and a wizard. A wizard himself, Harry is invited to attend Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. He also got to know that his parents did not die in a car accident, but instead, an evil wizard named Voldemort murdered them and tried to kill him as well.

Harry was the only one to have survived an attack by the evil Voldemort. The encounter left Harry with a lightning-bolt-shaped scar on his forehead. At Hogwarts, Harry becomes friends with Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger and finds a rival in Draco Malfoy. The headmaster, Albus Dumbledore, takes Harry under his wing. These relationships continue throughout the Harry Potter series, especially as the young wizards and witches grow older and are called upon to take sides in a growing wizard war.

Although Harry Potter and much of the wizarding world did not know it, Voldemort was planning a return to power. At first living as a parasite in a follower’s body, Voldemort makes attempts on Harry’s life throughout the series. Harry Potter and those who side with him are forced on multiple occasions to battle with Voldemort and his followers, including the Malfoy family. The epic story ends with Harry accepting his role as the iconic “boy who lived” and facing almost certain death in the struggle against the evil wizard. With help from those who love him and believe in him, eventually he is able to emerge victorious.

Harry’s story continued in the play Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, which premiered in 2016. Based on a story cowritten by Rowling, Harry is married to Ginny Weasley. The couple has three children,: James Sirius, Albus Severus, and Lily Luna. Although working for the Ministry of Magic, Harry continues to struggle with his past, while Albus must contend with his father’s legacy. In this Harry Potter series,.

Every chapter is a new adventure and a new piece of the story, and right when you start, you just want to find all the pieces. Without further ado, let’s delve into the article; Harry Potter Books in Order: The Complete Reading List.

Related Post: Download Harry Potter Ebooks by J.K. Rowling (PDF)

Harry Potter Books in Order
Harry Potter Books in Order

 Harry Potter books have been translated into 85 languages and sold more than 600 million copies worldwide, becoming the best-selling book series in history.

Here’s a list of the Harry Potter books in order:

  1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (known as “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” in the US) (1997)
  2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (1998)
  3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (1999)
  4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2000)
  5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2003)
  6. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2005)
  7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (2007)

Outside of the main series, below are the additional Harry Potter books in order:

  1. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2001)
  2. Quidditch Through the Ages (2001)
  3. The Tales of Beedle the Bard (2008)
  4. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (2016)
  5. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay (2016)
  6. Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald: The Original Screenplay (2018)

Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. This blog post may contain other affiliate links as well by which I earn commissions at no extra cost to you. 

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter Books in Order: The Complete Reading List”

  1. Asking questions are really good thing if you are not understanding anything completely, however this
    article presents nice understanding yet.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

SA Graphics Official